4-H Youth Development

At the 2022 EDEN Annual Conference it was decided that the Family and Consumer Sciences and 4-H Youth Development will be separating into two, connected groups: the Family and Consumer Sciences Committee and the 4-H Youth Development Committee. The Family and Consumer Sciences will be chaired by Faye Griffiths-Smith of the University of Connecticut and the 4-H Youth Development Committee will be chaired by Michelle Krehbiel of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. The committees expect to closely collaborate and remain in communication.

This will allow more focused discussion and training on the topics of disaster preparedness and response, specifically in regards to youth, families, and consumers, as well as the creation of research-based fact sheets, courses and authored documents that would be helpful for public use. Each committee is actively recruiting membership and participation. Benefits to participation include professional development, grant writing opportunities and invitations, resources sharing and co-authoring, and professional fellowship.


  • To identify areas of need and provide resources for utilization by Extension Educators when educating their audiences in the areas of disaster preparedness, mitigation, and recovery. Create research-based fact sheets and courses, as well as evaluate other authored documents that would be helpful for public use.


  • Seek out, review, and offer appropriate resources for Extension Educators and public stakeholders pertaining to disaster preparedness and response, specifically in regards to youth, families, and consumers.
  • Work with the Professional Development Committee to prepare at least 2 webinars per year.


Open to all delegates. The committee meets on the third Thursday of every month at 1:30PM Eastern.


-Include links to items created/achievements


  • Plan and conduct monthly committee calls
  • Send out communications to committee members and delegates as needed
  • Coordinate committee produced webinars in partnership with the EDEN Support Team
  • Representative of 4-H/FCS Committee on the EDEN Executive committee
  • Attend EDEN Executive committee monthly call (third Thursday, 3 pm Est.)
  • Attend EDEN Executive Committee Mid-Winter Board Meeting (February or March in-person)
  • Attend EDEN Executive Committee Meeting at Annual Meeting
  • Submit monthly and yearly Reports
  • Appoint subcommittees and committee working groups as needed
  • Attend the Annual Meeting
  • Coordinate other projects as needed
  • The chair can serve up to 3 consecutive terms
  • The vice-chair shall assume the duties of the chair in the chair’s absence
  • Send out communications to committee members and delegate as needed
  • Representative of the 4-H/FCS committee on the EDEN Annual Meeting committee
  • Attend Annual Meeting committee monthly calls (Fourth Friday, 12:00 pm Est.)
  • Name one reviewer to the Annual Meeting review panel
  • Determine and coordinate the Annual Meeting post-session workshop in partnership with Purdue staff
  • Coordinate other projects as needed
  • Attend the Annual Meeting
  • Elected to a one-year term
  • May be elected as chair-elect if the chair is beginning a third consecutive term or planning to step down at the end of their next term
  • If elected as chair-elect, the committee will only hold a vice-chair election in June. The chair-elect will automatically assume the chair at the next Annual Meeting.


Profile image of Michelle Krehbiel

Michelle Krehbiel

Job Title: Youth Development Specialist
Office Phone: (402) 472-9020
Delegate Type: Delegate
Institution: University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Committee Members

Last Name First Name Institution
I. Spahr Linda Penn State University
Jones Sonya University of Georgia
Saboe-Wounded Head Lorna South Dakota State University
Cochran Soni University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Holinshead Erin University of Illinois
Griner Alexandria University of Georgia
Moore Susan University of Georgia
Brown Virginia University of Georgia
Portelos-Rometo Maria University of Florida
Irvine Kelsey Florida Sea Grant, University of Florida
Shanklin Donna Auburn University
Smith Angela Penn State University
Johnson Carrie North Dakota State University
Jefferson Gisele Colorado State University
Beckley Sheila Colorado State University
Peutz Joey University of Idaho
Turner Pamela University of Georgia
Syers Wade Michigan State University
Mishra Nilima Kentucky State University
Fisher Sandra (Sam) Virginia Tech
Fleming Rita Tennessee State University
Akers Ryan Mississippi State University
Treiber Lisa Michigan State University
Nwadike Londa Kansas State University
Caeton Nathaniel University of California
Krehbiel Michelle University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Harries Kia University of Minnesota
Hendrickson Lori University of Minnesota
Sanders Colleen University of Minnesota
Croymans Sara University of Minnesota Extension
Ostrenga Sprague Stephanie Michigan State University
Buck Julie University of Idaho
Griffiths-Smith Faye University of Connecticut
Dixon Ruth Oregon State University
Tannehill Linda
Samuel Beverly USDA National Institute of Food & Agriculture
Pearson Cathy Texas A&M AgriLife Extension
Ooki Nancy University of Hawaii at Manoa
Oatman Brian University of California
McGarry Joyce Michigan State University
Koukel Sonja New Mexico State University
Dodd Courtney Texas A&M AgriLife Extension
Davis Kimberly Florida A&M University
Black Lynette Oregon State University
Griffith Rick New Mexico State University
Nelson Sherry University of Missouri
Yoder Mike North Carolina State University
Burnham Conne University of Missouri
Koch Becky North Dakota State University
Williams Carolyn Prairie View A&M University